Cornerstone of Buddhism: The Four Noble Truths


Buddhism is a very practical religion that does not promote deification and theology. It is about straightforward and simple truths which, if followed in everyday life, can help people overcome suffering and achieve an inborn sense of happiness. Buddhism is also about respecting other living beings, living peacefully with everyone and being righteous in one’s actions, deeds and thoughts. Buddha’s teachings are based on what he experienced and learnt before he attained enlightenment.

After he achieved enlightenment, he taught people how to arrive at that enlightenment through their own experience and by following some practical teachings. The very nature of Buddhism makes it so different from other religions. Buddhism believes that instead of memorizing certain doctrines and dogmas and following them to the letter, one should realize the truths of life by practicing the Eightfold Path, which is the broad outline of Buddhist practices.

While Buddhism does not encourage blindly following rules and principles, it is important to know the teachings and philosophies of Buddha to understand the discipline that Buddhism is all about. The Four Noble Truths are the very foundation of this.

  • Life is suffering
  • Attachment causes suffering
  • To cure suffering, free yourself from attachment
  • The eightfold path will show you the way out of suffering