Schools of Tibetan Buddhism

Among the five schools of Tibetan Buddhism, the Nyingmapa sect was the first, founded by Padmasambhava, followed by Kagyupa (988-1069), headed by the Karmapa Lama and the Sakyapa school, founded in the 11th century.

The Gelugpa founded by Je Rinpoche (1357-1419) is the sect led by the Dalai Lama. There’s also the controversial New Kadampa, a Buddhist sect founded in the United Kingdom