What are Chakras 101


Chakras are invisible centers of subtle energy aligned on a central channel alongside the spine. Chakras are filled with mystic energy called pranic or life-force. As it spins and draws upon this energy, each chakra oversees the functioning of specific physical organs, emotions, mental faculties and spirituality. Imbalance in the function of a chakra affects the corresponding organs and leads to disease.

The seven main chakras are traditionally associated with specific symbols, colors, mantras and deities.Chakra system is often depicted in Chakra art, meditation kits and Chakra jewelry

Root Chakra (Muladhara)
The Muladhara Chakra is near the perineum. It is associated with the color red and governs the passions. It controls psychological functions such as survival instinct, sexuality, impulsiveness and courage. Lord Ganesha rules over the root chakra.

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)
Swadhisthana Chakra in the lower abdomen is symbolically represented by orange. It governs the function of procreation. It influences attributes like sensuality, sociability and sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
Manipura Chakra lies in the stomach; symbolized as yellow, it governs mental functions unique to humans like knowledge, optimism, humor, awareness and curiosity. Body parts controlled by it include the digestive system, diaphragm and nervous system.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)
Anahata Chakra is green and rules over love, compassion, forgiveness, self-control and growth. It controls the thymus gland and organs including the heart, respiratory system, arms and musculature.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
Vishuddha Chakra is blue and concerns higher functions like wisdom, speech, trust, creativity, planning and caution. It regulates the thyroid gland. Organs associated with it include the throat, vocal chords, mouth, tongue and lymphatic system. It regulates the menstrual cycle.

Third eye Chakra (Ajna)
Indigo colored Ajna is located in the forehead. It presides over psychic abilities, self-realization, memory, perception and courage. It rules the pituitary gland and attributes of imagination and intuition. This chakra regulates the eyes, nose and ears, the sinuses and parts of the brain.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)
Sahasrara is located at the top of the head. It governs the pineal gland and is associated with wisdom, inspiration and charisma. Qualities of highly evolved beings – self-sacrifice and visionary abilities – fall under Sahasrara. It rules the pineal gland and body organs including the upper brain, cerebral cortex and central nervous system.